Author Topic: newbie - end mill grooves, mill jams  (Read 2528 times)

Offline arma16

newbie - end mill grooves, mill jams
« on: March 17, 2016, 04:07:41 AM »
Hello....I'm totally new to the world of CNC machining and wanted to get some opinions. I cranked out my first lower receiver fine, tested it, no problem. Trying to make my second one and the machine mills for a while, then jams (spindle stops). When I took the part out, I see the grooves in the attached picture. I'm figuring that my end mill is dull, but that doesn't really make sense since my first lower was shiny smooth the whole time. What else could be causing this? The end mill walking? I tightened down the collet nut as hard as I could. Please tell me it's not a bad spindle or something.

Thanks for your help...

Offline Ca_Longshot

Re: newbie - end mill grooves, mill jams
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2016, 08:25:40 AM »
The possible cause.....
Since Aluminum is a gummy and galls.
Check you endmill to see if you have any aluminum welded to it.
Are you using a good cutting fluid??
Check you are using a reasonable speed and feed rates

Also check your mill.
Make sure the Gibbs are tight but moves freely... and are well oiled
Check the spindle too....

Good Luck,
 Ca_Longshot
« Last Edit: March 17, 2016, 08:34:28 AM by Ca_Longshot »

Offline arma16

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2016, 04:07:44 AM »
Thanks for these ideas. It does look like there is some aluminum welded to the sides of the end mill. I've got a new one coming in the mail, will let you know how it goes.

Not using any cutting fluid, and the speed and feed rates were pre-programmed in the file I'm using, so I don't think there's any problem there.

How would I check the spindle to see if it is good/bad?