Author Topic: How hard is it to machine a 80% lower?  (Read 2240 times)

Offline JP223

How hard is it to machine a 80% lower?
« on: November 08, 2008, 07:54:20 PM »
I'm new to machine work. I really want to get a AR45. Any info and, tips?

Offline Prototype Services

Re: How hard is it to machine a 80% lower?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 08:19:32 PM »
Buy one from Justin and have Thompson finish it and send to your friendly FFL dealer.

Offline goober

• goober on heatware
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2008, 08:24:03 PM »
or, if you want to finish it yourself, start reading and saving up for at least a mini mill, or find access to a mill.
read all the AR15 80% and 0% tutorials that are mentioned in other threads on this site (as well as on others), tool up, and start making chips!
but if you've never done any metalworking before be aware you have a steep learning curve to climb. it's doable though, i'm proof  ;D
heatware username: goober

Offline JP223

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2008, 07:23:53 AM »
Thanks for the info. I really want to do it myself. I'm that type of guy! lol What would be a good mill to get? What about books or, websites that can help. Thanks again for the help!!

Offline goober

• goober on heatware
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2008, 09:10:40 AM »
JP223:
That's the spirit! Just be careful, they're like potato chips and tattoos... Once you do one you won't be able to stop   :o
As far as the mill goes, I would say there are 3 main factors:

1) Interest level: The cliche above notwithstanding, do you plan to just do this one lower, and possibly never do any metalwork again? If so, you may be better off finding someone with a mill that will let you use theirs; this may have the added benefit of some guidance/coaching from the owner if you need it.